Sponsor:

Server and Web Integrator
Link:
Kloxo-MR logo
6.5.0 or 7.0.0
Click for "How to install"
Donation/Sponsorship:
Kloxo-MR is open-source.
Donate and or Sponsorship always welcome.
Click to:
Click Here
Please login or register. 2024-03-28, 11:08:34

Author Topic: [TIP] How to set dns  (Read 38042 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline MRatWork

  • Administrator
  • The Elite
  • *****
  • Posts: 15,807
  • Karma: +119/-11
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • MRatWork Forum
[TIP] How to set dns
« on: 2014-01-28, 04:16:20 »
Taken from http://forum.lxcenter.org/index.php?t=msg&goto=87450&&srch=dns#msg_87450 (also my article)

Imagine this situation:

1. Kloxo install on VPS1 and VPS2
2. on VPS1 want install domain
3. on VPS2 want install subdomain

4. Domain is mydomain.com and subdomain is subdom.mydomain.com
5. IP for VPS1 is 123.111.111.111 and for VPS2 is 123.222.222.222
6. IP for registrar dns is 123.333.333.333

Step 1:

1.1. set "A record" (child nameserver) and "NS Record" (nameserver) on Registrar (where we buy domain) panel:
Code: [Select]
ns1 A - 123.111.111.111
ns2 A - 123.333.333.333
- NS - ns1.mydomain.com
- NS - ns2.mydomain.com

Step 2:

2.1. make dns-template on VPS1 with name 'default' for domain:
Code: [Select]
__base__ A - 123.111.111.111
cp  A - 123.111.111.111
mail A - 123.111.111.111
ns A - 123.111.111.111
ns1 A - 123.111.111.111
ns2 A - 123.333.333.333
ftp CN - __base__
lists CN - mail
webmail CN - mail
www CN - __base__
default.dnst MX 10 mail.default.dnst
- NS - ns1.default.dnst
- NS - ns2.default.dnst

2.2. make dns-template on VPS1 with name 'outside' for subdomain:
Code: [Select]
* A - 123.222.222.222
__base__ A - 123.222.222.222
ns1 A - 123.222.222.222
ns2 A - 123.111.111.111
- NS - ns1.outside.dnst
- NS - ns2.outside.dnst

2.3. add mydomain.com and select default.dnst template and result (no all contents; just for illustration):
Code: [Select]

__base__ A - 123.111.111.111
cp  A - 123.111.111.111
mail A - 123.111.111.111
ns A - 123.111.111.111
ns1 A - 123.111.111.111
ns2 A - 123.333.333.333
ftp CN - __base__
lists CN - mail
webmail CN - mail
www CN - __base__
mydomain.com MX 10 mail.mydomain.com
- NS - ns1.mydomain.com
- NS - ns2.mydomain.com

2.4. add submydomain.com and select outside.dnst template and result (no all contents; just for illustration):
Code: [Select]
* A - 123.222.222.222
__base__ A - 123.222.222.222
ns1 A - 123.222.222.222
ns2 A - 123.111.111.111
- NS - ns1.subdom.mydomain.com
- NS - ns2.subdom.mydomain.com

Step 3:

3.1. make dns-template on VPS2 with name 'subdomain' for subdomain:
Code: [Select]
__base__ A - 123.222.222.222
cp  A - 123.222.222.222
mail A - 123.222.222.222
ns A - 123.222.222.222
ns1 A - 123.222.222.222
ns2 A - 123.111.111.111
ftp CN - __base__
lists CN - mail
webmail CN - mail
www CN - __base__
subdomain.dnst MX 10 mail.subdomain.dnst
- NS - ns1.subdomain.dnst
- NS - ns2.subdomain.dnst

3.2. add subdom.mydomain.com and select subdomain.dnst template and result (no all contents; just for illustration):
Code: [Select]
__base__ A - 123.222.222.222
cp  A - 123.222.222.222
mail A - 123.222.222.222
ns A - 123.222.222.222
ns1 A - 123.222.222.222
ns2 A - 123.111.111.111
ftp CN - __base__
lists CN - mail
webmail CN - mail
www CN - __base__
subdom.mydomain.com MX 10 mail.subdom.mydomain.com
- NS - ns1.subdom.mydomain.com
- NS - ns2.subdom.mydomain.com

..:: MRatWork (Mustafa Ramadhan Projects) ::..
-- Server/Web-integrator - Web Hosting (Kloxo-MR READY!) --

Ataurbd

  • Guest
Re: [TIP] How to set dns
« Reply #1 on: 2016-01-31, 05:01:57 »
Thank You MR for your effort.
But, my main domain is hosted on cPanel server. Now, I want to host its subdomain on my kloxo-mr server.
How can I do it?

Offline MRatWork

  • Administrator
  • The Elite
  • *****
  • Posts: 15,807
  • Karma: +119/-11
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • MRatWork Forum
Re: [TIP] How to set dns
« Reply #2 on: 2016-01-31, 05:19:34 »
Thank You MR for your effort.
But, my main domain is hosted on cPanel server. Now, I want to host its subdomain on my kloxo-mr server.
How can I do it?
If your domain in CPanel is yourdomain.com and want sub.yourdomain.com in Kloxo-MR, you must:
1. In CPanel for yourdomain.com, add like:
Code: [Select]
...
sub  A  in  123.123.123.123
ns1.sub  A  in  123.123.123.123
ns2.sub  A  in  123.123.123.123
sub NS in ns1.sub.yourdomain.com.
sub NS in ns2.sub.yourdomain.com.
...
2. In Kloxo-MR for sub.yourdomain.com, create 'default' dns template with:
- use  123.123.123.123 as IP
- set ns as 'ns1.default.dnst' and 'ns2.default.dnst'
- Create sub.yourdomain.com under 'domains' and use default.dnst as template (if have more then one dns template)

Note: change 123.123.123.123 to real IP.
..:: MRatWork (Mustafa Ramadhan Projects) ::..
-- Server/Web-integrator - Web Hosting (Kloxo-MR READY!) --

Ataurbd

  • Guest
Re: [TIP] How to set dns
« Reply #3 on: 2016-01-31, 05:31:26 »
Thank you for your reply.
But I didn't get it clearly.
this 123.123.123.123 ip is which one of? VPS1 or VPS2?
Can I skip the part of domain registerer?
And, When I am creating dns template its only giving my option to add my current IP, so do I have to edit ip manually after creating dns temp?

EDIT : Do i have to create subdomain on my cPanel server or just add those A record manually?
« Last Edit: 2016-01-31, 05:33:29 by Ataurbd »

Offline MRatWork

  • Administrator
  • The Elite
  • *****
  • Posts: 15,807
  • Karma: +119/-11
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • MRatWork Forum
Re: [TIP] How to set dns
« Reply #4 on: 2016-01-31, 05:53:45 »
Thank you for your reply.
But I didn't get it clearly.
this 123.123.123.123 ip is which one of? VPS1 or VPS2?
Can I skip the part of domain registerer?
And, When I am creating dns template its only giving my option to add my current IP, so do I have to edit ip manually after creating dns temp?

EDIT : Do i have to create subdomain on my cPanel server or just add those A record manually?
123.123.123.123 is IP in server that use Kloxo-MR.
..:: MRatWork (Mustafa Ramadhan Projects) ::..
-- Server/Web-integrator - Web Hosting (Kloxo-MR READY!) --

Offline fossxplorer

  • Master
  • **
  • Posts: 640
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [TIP] How to set dns
« Reply #5 on: 2016-07-25, 10:38:57 »
@Mustafa, why are you using registrar IP for ns2 on VPS1?
For a single server setup, i use 2 IPs for ns1 and ns2 that are both Kloxo-MR server IP, i.e my IP not registrar's.

At registrar, what i did was to register ns1 and ns2.mydomain.com with corresponding IPs.
This is sometimes called a "glue records", and some registrars are very strict and require it already exists 2 unique IPs to resolve ns1 and ns2 for your domain in question.
This is true for our .no domain registrar.   

Kloxo-MR!

Offline intan

  • Junior Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [TIP] How to set dns
« Reply #6 on: 2016-11-26, 08:17:30 »
Mas Mustafa kenapa pada saat menghapus domain kemudian add domain kembali tidak bisa ya,.. saya setting batas add hnya 1 utk customer jika customer sdh add domain kemudian ingin menghpus domain, setelah itu add domain lagi tpi tdk bisa..? trimakasih sblmnya :)

 


MRatWork Affiliates:    BIGRAF(R) Inc.    House of LMAR    EFARgrafix

Page created in 0.044 seconds with 21 queries.

web stats analysis